Outlook – January

Outlook – January – Grateful

Brandon Harter

 

          Many times I find myself upset or complaining about something that I have to do, or something I want.  Selfishness, I realized that this mentality was due to not acknowledging God.  Time after time God provides for me, yet I continue to take things for granted.  I have wanted to buy an iMac for a while and every time I came close to being able to afford it something came up.  I found myself sitting in a movie one night, I was angry that once again my attempt to buy my Mac had fallen through.

          It was at that moment that I came to the realization that I had no right to complain.  I was sitting in a movie that I had gotten into for free.  I had just gotten a text from a friend who was giving me his Xbox for free because mine has been broken for a while.  Right then I started to remember all the things God had given me, my car, house, family, friends, job, church, scholarship, the list just went on and on, time after time He had provided for me.

Philippians 4:11-13 came to mind.  ”For I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or I n want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.” Never had I gone to sleep hungry, never have I not had a home, never had God not been faithful to me.  This realization was a smack in the face.  I have tried to be content in all things, but here I was failing and I didn’t even realize it.  I have no reason to complain, so I will leave you with this thought, think of Jesus’ sacrifice, do you have any right to complain?

~ by bharter on December 19, 2007.

2 Responses to “Outlook – January”

  1. ”For I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or I n want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”

    This is nice. I’ll be visiting your blog from time to time. I learn a lot of things. Again, thank you very much.

  2. no prob, i’m really glad it helps u

Leave a Reply

 
