Fuge Article – April

Brandon Harter
Outlook – April

Unity/Compassion

I wanted to pick one of these two topics to write my article on, but I just couldn’t bring myself to pick one, and then it dawned on me that the two go hand in hand.  Without compassion, unity will fail, and without unity, compassion is bound to a individual level.  Of course when saying this I am referring to the ministry aspect of unity and compassion
When bikers pass each other going opposite directions on the road, they hold out their hand to their side, resembling a low five.  While off roading with my brother, Richie, and Modo I realized that every time a dirt biker or another truck passed, they’d always wave to us.  At times the path wasn’t wide enough to safely pass going both directions.  When we would pull over to let people get by, they would hold up fingers and gestures to let us know how many people were in the group so we would know when we could start going again without hitting anyone.
This unity surprised me, I think because it is something I rarely see in churches today.  Our church has far more unity than most.  At SFA and especially in the youth, I see people filling in where others lack.  I’m not saying that some people just don’t do their work, I’m saying that there are circumstances when things come up, that’s just life.  But in these moments I have seen others rise up to help them manage their responsibilities.  Than in my opinion defines compassion.  Caring enough about the ministry and others to carry their burdens.  Galatians 6:2 – “Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”  This is the kind of unity that Christians as a whole need to have.
We need to unite.  God has called us to do His work, and I feel that when a church is lacking, it is our job to help them through their hard time.  The church of America seems so segregated with so many different denominations believing so many different things.  I think it is about time that Christians believe the Bible, stop disputing, and work together to save the lost.  Where is  the love?  When Jesus comes back, what will He have to say about it?  He is coming back for a church without spot or wrinkle, how long will it be until he finds one of those?
Until the church learns to have compassion and to put differences aside and unite, it will never reach the lost at its full capacity.  We hinder ourselves and limit God.  So I’ll leave you with this thought, has God called you to work with others for Him, or did He send you out alone?

~ by bharter on March 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
