$10 Car Ride

I was driving home and saw a car on the side of the road.  I stopped to ask them if they needed help.  They eagerly said that they did.  I assumed it would be a simple jump, but they had a blown hose.  I didn’t know what I could do for them.  They were trying to get to the mortuary right down road.  I told them I knew where it was and they asked if I could take them there.  I agreed.  They pulled their car into the nearby parking lot and got into my car.  I am always cautious though, I had my knife easily assessable because there are so many scammers and crazy people now-a-days.  I was happy that this guy and two older ladies were friendly.  The one lady handed me some money, but I told her it was fine and I didn’t want it.  She insisted, saying it was the least she could do since I saved them from missing their chance to say goodbye to their loved one.  They were pretty grateful and I headed home.  The irony of the situation was that I was listening to The Funeral by Band of Horses as I drove up to their car and minutes later I was driving them to a funeral.  Life is full of surprises and today has been a very busy and eventful day.

~ by bharter on June 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
